MCAN and San Diego State University’s Center for Equity and Postsecondary Attainment are now accepting applications for the 2021 cohort of School Counselor Fellows. The school counselor fellows program is an advanced school counselor leadership, peer consultation, and professional development training designed to provide a cohort of experienced school counselors an opportunity to strengthen school counselor leadership practices. This fellowship is free to accepted counselors. 

San Diego State University Center for Equity and Postsecondary Attainment

MCAN understands that school counselors are well-positioned to take a leadership role within their community as they inform and guide the postsecondary trajectories of their students. This program will provide counselors with an opportunity to share ideas, pose questions, digest evidence-based research, review school and district policies, and discuss interventions that support college and career readiness in postsecondary planning.

Learn more about the fellows program model →
Meet the current fellows →

The two-year school counselor fellowship will focus on urgent and timely issues impacting school counselor practice. Fellows will investigate how mental health, wellness, and equity-driven practices influence college and career readiness and postsecondary planning. Action-oriented plans will be developed to increase practices that best support students as they navigate their postsecondary path in an erratic and changing environment.

MCAN is offering an opportunity to learn more about the School Counselor Fellows program. This webinar will detail the application process, fellowship mechanics, and provide an opportunity to hear from current fellows about their projects and experiences. It has been submitted for one SCECH in college prep and selection.

Fellows will receive:

  • Professional development
  • Supervision
  • Training in embracing equity-driven leadership and advocacy development

Fellows agree to:

  • Make a two-year fellowship commitment
  • Attend monthly school counselor fellow meetings (via Zoom): 2 hrs/month, beginning Sept. 3, 2021
  • Complete monthly assignments, readings, and reflections
  • Design and complete a project related to a college access or success issue
  • Provide feedback and recommendations for the fellowship process
  • Stay on for a second year to mentor an incoming school counselor fellow beginning fall, 2022

For questions about the School Counselor Fellows program, contact Jamie Jacobs, deputy director and director of high school innovation