Skip to main content

MCAN announces Year 2 Reach Higher High School grants

"Reach Higher High School Grant Program" in white text over background image of graduates' caps

LANSING, Mich. — Michigan College Access Network is excited to announce the latest cohort of Year 2 Reach Higher high schools. Since 2015, MCAN has provided funding for high schools to improve college access through the Reach Higher High School grant program. This year, MCAN welcomes 10 schools into the second year of the Reach Higher Grant program. These schools completed the first year of the Reach Higher High School grant program in December, and they have demonstrated a strong commitment from the building principal and school counseling team to move the needle on Michigan’s attainment goal of Sixty by 30.

In Year 2 of the Reach Higher High School grant program, these 10 schools will receive $5,000 to improve and strengthen their postsecondary advisory council, scale their College Bound Michigan initiatives, collaborate on sustainable action plans, analyze postsecondary outcomes data and develop plans to sustain this work in their communities.

“We are excited to extend our partnership with these 10 high schools as they work to improve the college-going culture in their districts,” said Ryan Fewins-Bliss, MCAN executive director. “These schools are leading the efforts in Michigan to reach the Sixty by 30 state goal.”

More information about MCAN’s Reach Higher High School grants is available here.

2021 Reach Higher Year 2 grantees:

  • Bad Axe High School (Bad Axe, Mich.)
  • Bay City Western High School (Auburn, Mich.)
  • Buchanan High School (Buchanan, Mich.)
  • The Bridge Alternative High School (Brighton, Mich.)
  • Early College Alliance (Ypsilanti, Mich.)
  • FlexTech High School (Brighton, Mich.)
  • Kensington Woods High School (Lakeland, Mich.)
  • Michigan Islamic Academy (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
  • Ottawa Hills High School (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
  • Redford Union High School (Redford, Mich.)

Ten participating schools receive $5,000 grants to continue postsecondary access work