Skip to main content

MCAN and San Diego State University launch School Counselor Fellows Program

Headshots of all School Advisor Fellows in a grid, next to a royal blue background; text in white over blue background: "School Counselor Fellows Program"

LANSING, Mich. — Michigan College Access Network (MCAN) is partnering with San Diego State University’s Center for Equity and Postsecondary Attainment to launch the School Counselor Fellows Program. This 2-year program will provide ongoing mentorship and training rooted in leadership and advocacy development for postsecondary attainment for a select group of Michigan school counselors.

The School Counselor Fellows Program will focus on urgent and timely issues impacting school counselor practice for postsecondary planning. Fellows will investigate how the pandemic, mental health and wellness, and equity driven practices influence college and career readiness and postsecondary planning. They will develop action-oriented plans to increase practices that best support students as they navigate their postsecondary path in an erratic and changing environment.

“School counselors are key building leaders within their district and their community as they guide the postsecondary decision-making of their students,” said Ryan Fewins-Bliss, MCAN executive director. “We’re excited to lift up their work and empower them to help build the college access field for themselves and their peers through our partnership with the Center for Equity and Postsecondary Attainment. We believe this program is the first fellowship for school counselors focusing on postsecondary attainment and will become a national model for replication.”

The program requires a two-year commitment from the school counselors. The training includes monthly online meetings accompanied by readings, assignments, and reflections. In their second year, the participants will also serve as mentors to the next class of counselor fellows.

Thirteen Michigan school counselors have been selected for the inaugural year of this program:


  • Emily Fritz, Bath High School (Bath, Mich.)
  • Mary Gardner, Grand Blanc High School (Grand Blanc, Mich.) 
  • Ruby Griggs, Hamtramck High School (Hamtramck, Mich.) 
  • Stacey Hickman-Jackson, Nolan Elementary and Middle School (Detroit, Mich.) 
  • Emily Johnson, Plainwell High School (Plainwell, Mich.) 
  • John Johnson, University Prep Art & Design (Detroit, Mich.) 
  • Rayme Martineau, Marquette-Alger RESA (Marquette, Mich.)
  • Rakiba Mitchell, Southeastern High School (Detroit, Mich.)
  • Cathy Longstreet, Hastings High School (Hastings, Mich.)
  • Stephanie Patrzik, Grand Traverse Academy (Traverse City, Mich.)
  • Kimberly Twarowski, Shelby Junior High (Shelby Township, Mich.)
  • Rebekah Ward, Lincoln Middle School (Ypsilanti, Mich.)
  • Tannille Winston, Oak Park High School (Oak Park, Mich.)

Thirteen Michigan school counselors selected for innovative 2-year training program